Hair Painting at mizu Salon

22 Nov

If you’ve followed my blog for awhile you’d know that in the past year I’ve been blonde, brunette and even a redhead. I’ve had brazilian blowouts, bangs, and attempted to dye my own hair out of a box! After all this I decided to go to one of the most well-reviewed salons in New York City, mizu, in order to bring my hair back to my favorite look: light brunette with blonde highlights inspired by Ashley here!

space

Everyone always says I look like two different people with my hair in the various colors I sport. But for now I love the change! Suzette at mizu is a genius who brought my deep, dark locks into my fave golden tone. Suzette is most well-known for her hair painting and ombre techniques, two of the hottest trends in hair this Fall!

Before, left… and after!

Suzette decided that partial highlights were best for my color to seem “natural” and accomplished it through her speciality, hair painting. Hair Painting is a technique in which the stylist uses a comb to brush on the color rather than using foils in order to prevent the obvious line of color when hair grows out. For girls highlighting their hair more than two colors lighter or darker this is much better so that re-growth is more transitional than harsh. I felt pretty silly with my hair wrapped in saran wrap but I must say that overall the highlights seem much more blended rather than the “stripes” that can occur after foiling.

spacespace

mizu has locations in both New York and Boston and have some of the most amazing specials: “Happy Hour” Thursdays and Fridays in Boston after 5pm with cheap blow dries so you look fab for your friends! And in their New York salon they have blow dry packages AND a special for students 22 and under on Tuesdays: Haircuts are $75, Wash and Styles $45, Single Process Hair Color is $60, and highlights are only $100!! I would’ve done anything for that deal when I was in college!

space

I would highly recommend mizu salon to anyone in New York, the space is absolutely beautiful, the stylists are sweet and truthful and fully trained. If you’re looking to re-do your do, head over to Suzette and mizu and try out hair painting for yourself! You can see pricing HERE! What do you think? Would you try hair painting?

 

* mizu provided this service for editorial consideration but I plan on going back to visit Suzette on my own dime!

Leave a Reply

