My First Facial

25 Oct

I’m almost embarrassed to admit, despite being a semi-beauty blogger, I had never gotten a facial prior to this weekend! I heard rumors of redness, breaking out, and even pain during the “extraction phase.” I was a chicken. But after talking it over with more experienced skin care experts, I learned that the benefits completely outweigh the cons and I decided to go for it!

Enter Mario Badescu, skin care system extraordinaire. Hailing Martha Stewart, Oprah, and Rachel Zoe as fans this past May I decided to purchase a few products of my own. Since then I have used the Aloe Vera Toner and Seaweed Night Cream religiously. I decided that a professional skin care company would have much more experience dealing with my skin than any random spa I found off Yelp.

One of my favorite things about Mario Badescu is that they have SO MANY PRODUCTS. This might overwhelm some people but I love it because I do not believe everyone’s skin can fit into the pre-set categories of a) dry, b) oily, or c) combination. I’m dry on my cheeks, oily on my t-zone and also, sensitive and acne prone. That is a lot to fit into one category! Personal and thorough consultations help determine which products are best for you, mixing and matching along the way.

space

I met with the amazing and so sweet Julia at Mario Badescu and the facial went like this:

1. Cleanser– taking off makeup, dust, and prepping the skin.

2. Detoxifying steam with massaging lotion— opening the pores with a light lotion and a steamer with a face and neck massage.

3.  ExtractionsРthe best part. Julia removed all the blockages causing blackheads and issues. Slightly painful but not too uncomfortable, plus you know this is the part that actually changes your skin!

4. Customized mask– my seaweed mask refreshed my skin, removed redness and added a complexion glow.

space

Overall it was relaxing, refreshing, and my skin has felt so smooth and clean since my facial. At Mario Badescu facials start at $65 and are recommended every 4-6 weeks depending on budget and skin type. I really appreciate the fact that the girls there understood my limited budget and suggested products that are most important for the skin. There is no need to buy products at the end of your session if you do not want, but they do offer a product consultation tailored to your specific needs. I walked out with the skin necessities and cannot wait to scrub, mask and cleanse my way into better skin!

space

Please comment below with any skin care issues, inquiries, or comments! I will be having a Q&A with the people at Mario Badescu and would love to hear your questions and thoughts!

space

*Big thanks to all the people at Mario Badescu Salon. This facial was provided for review purposes. I am not affiliated with this company and all reviews are my own opinion.

3 Responses to “My First Facial”

  1. Brookelyn October 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I’m glad it went well! I love a good facial, and the results sometimes seem to last a couple months!

  2. Jenna October 31, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    have you ever tried the drying lotion? i ordered it the other day online and can’t wait to try it!

    (amazing blog by the way, clearly you can tell i read it!)

    • everydaytorunway November 1, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      Thanks!! And yes, I’m absolutely in LOVE with the drying lotion. Unlike other products it actually does make a spot look less red but doesn’t dry out the surrounding skin! But you have to make sure you’re putting just the pink “powder” on, not shaking the bottle first! xo

Leave a Reply

