How to: Help Keratosis Pilaris

19 Oct

Any dedicated beauty girl can tell you, we’re constantly on the hunt for new products to fix even the smallest imperfections. I own at least 11 mascaras to deepen my lash color, a minimum of 40 glosses to give that perfect pink tint to my pout, and a product for any hair style imaginable. But one of my more secret imperfections is the slight condition of Keratosis Pilaris. I had no idea what this word even meant until talking it over with my dermatologist. I just figured it was really dry skin!

space

Keratosis Pilaris is more commonly known as the little bumps on the backs of arms or legs. The common condition results when a protein in the skin called keratin forms hard plugs within hair follicles. This causes little bumps that in some cases can turn red as well. Luckily, my case is pretty mild and I’ve found a way to treat it as best as possible!

space

Here’s some facts about Keratosis Pilaris:

1. It is more common during the winter and can clear up during the summer.

2. KP can be semi-genetic and might disappear as you grow older.

3. Keratosis Pilaris is most common on the backs of arms, thighs and sometimes, on the face.

4. There is no “cure” for KP.

space

You can apply the thickest of lotion to treat KP, but unless the lotion contains an medical ingredient it will not clear up the bumps. Lotions with urea, lactic acid, glycolic acid, salicylic acid, tretinoin, or vitamin D can help treat the bumps but not cure them forever. Working with your dermatologist you can find the best lotion for you. After test trials of three lotions I finally found one that will keep my KP low: NeoStrata‘s Ultra Smoothing Lotion!

This $27 lotion, with 8% Glycolic Acid, promotes cell turnover and when used regularly (once a day) almost diminishes my Keratosis Pilaris. It’s important to remember though that once you stop using the lotion, the KP will return, it’s only a treatment not a cure. The best news is: NeoStrata is hosting a Friends and Family Discount! Enter the code FRIENDS at checkout for 20% off your order! I honestly could not live without this lotion, I have used it daily since receiving it in June and am so happy with the results. *UPDATE: Currently this product is out of stock, but they have the same lotion in a cream or the lotion with a higher concentration of medicine. The cream is essentially the same, aside from the texture. But I will be testing the 15 AHA Lotion and reporting back… so check back soon!

So head over to NeoStrata and check out some new products!

space

*This product was sent to me for PR consideration. This is my honest opinion and I have no affiliation with this company.


Leave a Reply

