In A New York Weekend…

18 Oct

After a rather rough week, I decided Saturday would start fresh and I would do at least three new things in the city that weekend! With the five boroughs, nooks and crannies of Manhattan, and endless space to wander so much goes overlooked when living in New York. I’m a creature of habit, so it takes all my willpower not to continue to go to the exact same brunch spot every Sunday, order the same smoothie at Jamba, or keep quiet in my little city nook downtown so this weekend I was ready to explore!

I was dying to go to the Brooklyn Flea all summer and now that the slight chill is coming in the air I was given a “now or never” subconscious message this weekend. The wind ripped through my sweater but the prospect of vintage shopping wouldn’t stop me even in gail force winds. Mirrors, maps, furs, pearls were scattered amongst the old left boot and mannequin head. And the eclectic vendors were nothing compared to the eclectic shoppers.

A little brunch at the cutest spot- General Greene with skillets and special lemonade was a nice way to warm up from the wind. We then proceeded to walk, and wander, and walk and adventure. Weekend farmers market, a quick shoe shopping diversion and the quest for apple cider.

The weekend rounded out with an out of this world homemade dinner! My best friend, a fellow blogger, @BrownBagGourmet and I decided to whip up a dinner that resulted in a Top Chef worthy meal! Lemon rosemary roasted chicken paired with garlic brussels sprouts and roasted potatoes followed by from scratch pumpkin spice muffins. I was ooh-ing and aah-ing to the last bite!

I’d say it was an extremely successful and adventurous weekend to start fall off right!

 

7 Responses to “In A New York Weekend…”

  1. Brookelyn October 18, 2010 at 6:49 am #

    Looks like you had a fun weekend! Those mirrors at the Flea look so cool!

  2. TheStylishNomad October 18, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    Beautiful photos and discoveries! You can never run out of things to do in NY, that’s what I love about it!

    xx
    K

    • everydaytorunway November 1, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

      Agreed! You can wander aimlessly and always run into something fun!

  3. Modest Apple October 18, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    I love the bright photos.

    Modest Apple — A Fashion Blog

  4. defor100 October 19, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    This sounds amazing! I am dying to try those pumpkin muffins.

    I am glad to hear you had a good weekend :)

    • everydaytorunway November 1, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

      The recipe was SO good! I can forward it to you if you’d like!

Leave a Reply

