StyleCaster Style-Over.

22 Aug

A few weeks ago I was treated to a day of style with the lovely ladies at StyleCaster for a “Style-over” story. As a California girl right out of college (well, a year ago) my closet consists of primarily sundresses, sorority tees, and a whole lot of jeans. Now that I am a full-time working girl in New York City, one of the fashion capitals of the world, I have realized I need to step up my personal style. Despite being able to identify pieces from collections across the fashion board, I would live in my slouchy tanks and skinny jeans.

Thanks to a few of the girls in the fashion department I spent a day full of shopping, beauty and achieving a major glam-factor. We started the day at Bloomingdales, trying on my favorite brands: Alice + Olivia, Elizabeth and James, Donna Karan, and more. If I could have, I would have honestly picked up almost every piece that I tried on!

This Cynthia Steffe dress was too chic for words. But ultimately we decided on an even better, brighter dress!

We then headed over to Ric Pipino’s salon in SoHo for a MAJOR change… Ric talked about my lifestyle with me and I told him about how working in my industry I’m out late a lot and end up spending 1.5 hours a night showering, blow drying, and then straightening my hair in order to get the unruly knotted tangles out of my “kindergarten hair.” Ric’s consultations are standard during an appointment with him and together we discussed the best option for my hair. I loved that he listened and gave me options instead of just deciding what he thought was best for me.

Ric decided that bangs would help bring out my eyes, and create a chic factor that is NYC-worthy. He also cut about five inches off my eternally-long hair. He said this would create a smoother line from my bangs and lift a lot of weight off my neck in this summer heat. My thick hair would always end up in a ponytail by 2 PM and texturing and thinning it created more movement rather than my long, blunt cut that I previously had. But the BEST treatment of the day was my BRAZILIAN BLOWOUT! Honestly the most life changing thing I have ever done in my beauty-life. I will be following up with a full post soon but let me tell you, Ric’s Salon is the best place to go and there is no way I will ever go back to my old frizz-prone hair now that this treatment exists. The three hour process (thank you Hector!) has cut down my nightly routine to a miniscule of what it was before. Stay tuned for a more detailed post.

space

After a round of makeup and deciding on a final look we have the final result…

Yaay!!! The hot pink Cynthia Steffe dress, Bloomingdales’ belt, Dannijo ring and makeup look by Face Atlier with my new shorter chic hair completed my new NYC Style-Over!

Head over to the full article HERE to see all the pictures, credits and to read the piece by the fantastic Janice over at StyleCaster. I had such a blast with the girls over there and have received a ton of compliments on my new look, and truly feel that I have more of a desire to edge up my look and have fun when getting dressed in the morning rather than just throwing on my favorite sundress and sandals. New York City is full of fashionistas and I feel like I am now one not just on the inside with Everyday to Runway but also, projecting it on the outside with my new look!

All photos from StyleCaster.com.

5 Responses to “StyleCaster Style-Over.”

  1. Maiah August 22, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Stunning!

  2. Brookelyn August 22, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    I love what they did with your hair! Just spent some time going through your blog, and I love it!

  3. bella blu August 23, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    I agree with you on the Brazilian Blowout. It’s the greatest thing ever.
    I was lucky enough to discover it about three or four years ago when I bought a house on Brazil.
    Since then I’ve become a complete fan of the Brazilian method, although I think our products over here are better than treatments I’ve seen on visits back to the UK.
    You still look fab tho!
    BB

  4. Caroline August 26, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    omg lucky girl! you look amazing … love the new cut :)

Leave a Reply

