Two Go-To’s.

3 Aug

Every summer I absolutely live in strappy sandals and summer skirts but this year there are new items taking precedent in my closet!

space

Since buying these two items I have been continually reaching for them every morning, then stopping myself, realizing I cannot wear the exact same thing 4 days in a row. The comfort yet cool look is my speciality. You’ll rarely see me sporting a bandage mini or stilettos unless it’s a special occasion, so I opt for my new two go-tos!

1. Super slouchy boyfriend jeans

Never understanding the point of buying clothing that was already ripped to shreds (a la the Balmain “distressed” tee) I held off on the destroyed denim look. And being only 5’4″ I also held off on the boyfriend jean look, thinking it looked much cuter on 5’9″ Katie Holmes. That is until I found these ridiculously cheap $29.95 American Eagle jeans (available here) that embraced both perfectly. I’m a firm believer in investment pieces: perfect trenches, LV purses, items that you spend a lot on but will last you for decades. While saving your wallet from the trendy items that come and go, or are “disposable” as I say.

I highly doubt these pre-ripped slouchers will last very long as I’ve already accidently stuck my foot through a hole creating an even bigger tear. But for now, on these lazy Saturday mornings where I’m not ambitious enough to go for the girlie brunch look, I immediately throw these on pair with an skin tight tank, braided belt and head out the door in all my comfort glory.

space

2. White wedges

Maybe because this year was my first trip to the Hamptons, or maybe because I’ve fallen head over heels for wedges (get it?) after seeing these Via Spiga white wedges I knew they’d be my go-to summer shoe. The straw detailing gives them the perfect beachy vibe but the leather and gold hardware dress up the look a bit. Thanks to the platform and cushy sole they’re ridiculously comfortable which is perfect for work and errand days. Being on a budget, I love that these shoes can be worn with the above jeans to create a comfy chic look that’s more dressed down or I love pairing it with a sundress, like I did today, for a dressier daytime look. Either way, these are comfy, cute, and are cheap at only $70 (originally $175)  right now! Gotta love a good deal!

space

What are your unexpected summer go-to pieces?

Leave a Reply

