How To: The Fishtail.

29 Jun

At 22 years of age and attempting to look somewhat like that, rather than the 17 year old I continually get mistaken for, I have finally re-embraced the braid into my life. BUT, on one condition: this braid must be a fishtail braid. No, I’m sorry, no more pigtail braids, no more tight regular braid, I will only compromise for side, fishtail braids from now on.

Ever since Alexander Wang’s side braid perfection (above) was shown on the S/S ’10 runways, I have had the side braid on my mind. But due to the slow as molasses rule of hair growth and the lack of funds for model extensions I have been unable to reach the level of A.Wang’s mane look to my full covet request. Until a new style came (back) into town…

I’m pretty sure I rocked the fishtail braid when I was about 4 or 5, but as soon as you hit the I-swear-I’m-18-not-14 age where all you want in life is to be seen as a grown-up the braids get the style-chop for pin straight locks or whatever is the look of the moment. But due to the mass amount of humidity currently in Manhattan, I wanted to try a new look that kept my hair off my neck but didn’t bring me back to my high-pony high school cheerleading days. After reading a few eHow articles, and a youtube video or two, I surprisingly got an adorable fishtail on my first try.

I’ve now been seeing fishtail braids all over red carpets, SoHo streets, and fashion magazines. Above Diane Kruger wore hers at the Cannes Film Festival, and Leona Lewis made a double fishtail at the London Love Ball. A fishtail braid looks much more intricate than a regular braid which adds a level of chicness that can be easily attainable.

1. Spray your favorite volumizing spray (my favorite!) into damp hair. Blow hair dry upside down while using your hands to shake and tousle your hair.

2. Pull your hair to a slightly off-center low ponytail.

3. Start by splitting the hair in two sections. On the right hand side, take a small .5″ outside section and bring over and under to the left hand side. Repeat on the left hand side. Continue until you get to the bottom. and secure with a clear elastic.

4. Then lightly pull the braid loose to create a disheveled look and feel a la Diane Kruger, or Ashley Olsen!

space

Next time I’ll try this Doo.Ri Fall 2010 side fishtail braid which looks insanely fabulous!

What do you think? Would you rock this look?

One Response to “How To: The Fishtail.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Personal Care 101 - June 29, 2010

    The Fishtail….

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

