Flawless Finish.

19 May

Foundation. A girl’s best friend and worst nightmare all in one. If you find your perfect foundation you have the flawless look that every girl is praying to attain, but it can take years and years. Personally, I have been using the same brand foundation since I was 15! I have been a loyal devotee of MAC Cosmetics’ Studio Fix pressed powder, Studio Fix Fluid, and Studio Tech for the last seven years. Not once have I strayed from my MAC skin obsession… until now.

The beauty world has been transformed since Make Up For Ever has come on the scene. Dany Sanz, creator of Make Up For Ever, spent all her time holed up in a Parisian workshop until creating the ultimate beauty products ever. Make Up For Ever burst onto the scene with beauty products specifically designed for HD- High Definition. As a non-celeb, I figured HD Makeup was pointless. Why do I need to look perfect on camera, when I’m never actually in front of a camera?! But then it hit me… if these people look amazing despite severe zoom on their pores, then in real life wouldn’t my makeup look practically invisible?

Make Up For Ever’s creator Dany Sanz (left) applying the flawless finish makeup.

I switched to liquid foundation a few years ago and have consistently refilled my NC15 and NC20 bottles religiously since then. This weekend at The Makeup Show I was bombarded by bloggers, fans and industry professionals alike raving about Make Up For Ever’s HD Foundation. If the packed booth and constant 50 person line didn’t give me an indication of “MUFE’s” popularity, than my personal interaction with one of their highly-knowledgeable trained artists would.

I watched like a hawk until one MUFE artist was free and immediately swooped in to get my own personal consultation. She went through each of the foundation products they carry: the HD Invisible Coverage Foundation (high coverage), the Face & Body Foundation (medium to high layer-able coverage), their Velvet + Matifying Foundation (full coverage), and their tattoo-coverable Full Coverage Concealer (extremely high coverage).

HD Invisible Coverage Foundation, $40.

Since my main concerns were finding a non-drying, full coverage foundation that did not feel thick or cake-y, the makeup artist suggested the HD Foundation. Truly I love MAC Cosmetics, but my Studio Fix Liquid Foundation was feeling so heavy in the increasing summer heat and even though I have some imperfections I did not feel I needed as much makeup as I was wearing each day. This foundation goes on light and depending on how many layers you add, you can make it as sheer or heavy as you want. For daily wear I choose to wear only one full layer and add a second layer to the “problem” areas, such as my right cheek where I have a slight bit of scarring.

The first day I showed up to work wearing this, I was complimented by three people on separate occurrences how glowing my skin looked. I immediately gave them the “are you sure? really?” It felt scary to leave my MAC foundation untouched in my makeup bag, but the compliments are helping me spread my proverbial wings.

This foundation is a little pricey at $40 a bottle but I am assured that a little goes a long way and one bottle will last you much longer than other brands of the same size. I am officially on day four of using this foundation and am absolutely in love. The texture, the staying power, the coverage are all exactly what I was looking for in a perfect foundation and assumed did not exist. If you’re looking for a makeup that is full in coverage but not in thickness, then Make Up For Ever’s HD Invisible Coverage Foundation is the absolute right one for you.

Who knows, maybe I’ll get my own talk show with this glowing skin! Take that, Oprah.

space

Disclaimer: I was given this product at a discounted press rate  at the Show, but this is my honest opinion. I am not being compensated for this review.

2 Responses to “Flawless Finish.”

  1. Jeanne May 20, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Where can we buy it?

    • everydaytorunway May 20, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

      Makeup Forever speciality stores or exclusively at Sephora!

Leave a Reply

