Spring Scarves.

10 May

Walking out of my NYC apartment this morning, I realized one thing: Brrrrrr!!! As much as I want to deny it, Spring has gone back into hiding, at least for this week! I ran back in and immediately threw on a bright colored scarf to warm me up but add a fun, fresh pop of color that brought my Winter accessory into the month of May!

A scarf is the perfect transition piece after those gloomy February rainy days but before those July iced-lemonade scorchers! The wind in Manhattan today was killer but with my pop of yellow pashmina I was cozy and yet still had the look of Spring!

space

My guide to Spring Scarves?

1. Pick a color that is bright, but also flatters your skin tone.

I like yellows for brunettes or tan girls, greens for red heads and lighter complexions, peach for dark skin tones, and purple for olive skin! Save the deeper colors for winter!

2. Pick a light weight fabric, no wool here.

Cotton is the perfect breezy, light choice that will still keep you cuddled up!

3. Patterns, patterns, patterns.

Tie dye, florals, stripes, you can’t go wrong here!

space

Below are some of my favorite picks for Spring….

Starting with magenta on Left, going clockwise:

Pink patterned Lily Pulitzer, $40. Mint crinkle TopShop, $30. Yellow striped Echo ring, $44. Patterned green Lucky Brand, $35. Black and bright Alexander McQueen, $730. Pink leopard Crumpet England, $320. Fuschia tie-dye Echo, $44. Striped Aeropostale, $15. Gray ruched Arden B, $20. Pink print Marc by Marc Jacobs, $130.

space

My favorite of the bunch? Definitely the McQueen, I love the mix of dark and bright which can be both a work, night, or casual piece. Or the fuschia tie dye by Echo; two of my FAVORITE Spring ’10 trends: hot pink and tie dye all wrapped into one affordable accessory!

Leave a Reply

