Instant Chic.

13 Apr

Yesterday I was invited to the amazing Lori Goldstein’s apartment for a night of fun, fabulosity and some serious styling. Lori’s clientele range from Madonna, Cate Blanchett, and Rihanna to working with Italian Vogue, W Magazine and Karl Lagerfeld. The gasp factor happened when Karen Robinovitz of Purple Lab NYC (a previous favorite!) dropped that Lori spent her days working with supermodel Gia, and the little factor that she’s BFF’s with Steven Meisel. All the name-dropping aside, Lori herself is one of the most fabulous people I’ve ever met! Whether she was ooh-ing over my ahem, Express brand ruffle tank, or tying a pink tie-dye scarf around her head á la Keith Richards, she was absolutely (in her favorite word) MAJOR.

First of all let’s just take notice of that ah-mazing wall of books and how her Birkin bag is a table accessory… yep, no words.

Lori’s beautiful apartment was decked out and full to the brim with fantastic bloggers such as Erika from PS. I Made This, Nola of On Glam Fashion, Jeannine of Beauty Sweet Spot, and many, many more amazing girls! We were each told to bring any piece from our closets that we found hard to style. Transformations included a ruffled floral chiffon dress that was in turn ripped up, turned inside out, hem ravaged then paired with a sweet cardi for a look that screamed drab to fab.

With each fashion transformation Lori paired a piece from her new amazing LOGO by Lori Goldstein QVC Collection that really took each look to a new level. Harem pants (which are actually cute!), chiffon cardigans, classic T’s, heels, jeweled flats, chunky bracelets, transformable necklaces fill her soon-to-be released collection and let me tell you, I would’ve bet hard cash that these were pricey pieces rather than the affordable $30-60 range that they actually are!!

My favorites of the collection include the ruffled denim motorcycle jacket ($85), which was rolled up and perfectly paired with my ruffled tank for my “transformation” as well as this absolutely adorable cinch belt ($32) which would be the perfect spring accessory to any T-shirt dress.

LOGO by Lori Goldstein debuts on QVC tomorrow, Wednesday, April 14th from 3-4pm EST.

Lori’s personality absolutely shows through her line and with mottos like fashion is about comfort, so “if it’s not comfortable enough to sleep in, you shouldn’t be wearing it” which I have to say I like much more than the age-old “beauty is pain” mantra! Comfy materials with perfect draping fill her new collection and will soon fill my weekend attire. She really inspired me to be daring with my closet and mix and match to what I love rather than seeing what I think I should love. Through layering, cutting, reinventing, Lori showed us bloggers ways to bring an old wardrobe up to date and with a last minute scarf tying demo I can see that sometimes fashion really is about just throwing something on and seeing how it wants to work!

So my lesson from Lori is to stop trying so hard, we must get dressed every day so why not have fun with it instead of making it a chore. Make yourself happy through your clothes and maybe your sunny yellow cardi will make someone else happy too!

space

Thank you Lori for inviting us into your beautiful home, thank you to Karen and Sharon at Purple Lab NYC for inviting me to this wonderful event, thanks to all the amazing bloggers I met at the event, and thanks to Will Star at Shooting Stars Pro for the great photos!

space

Make sure you check out LOGO online here, check out her Facebook page here, and definitely follow her on Twitter here! Lori is a style legend and I feel lucky to have learned from a master of fashion. ♥

4 Responses to “Instant Chic.”

  1. Susan Kishner April 13, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    Great post. I will read your posts frequently. Added you to the RSS reader.

  2. lori April 14, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    That was a truly incredible night! This post is major! Thank you so much! Stay Chic! xoxo Lori

  3. Jeanne April 15, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    why don’t they have events like this in LA?

Leave a Reply

