Are you Smart, Pretty and.. Awkward?!

22 Mar

“Just because somebody doesn’t love you the way you want them to, doesn’t mean they don’t love you with everything they got” –Author Unknown

How to be Smarter: Make sure your goals are far enough away to be challenging, close enough to be reasonable, tangible enough to be measured, and something meaningful enough to your heart that you will follow through.

How to be Prettier: When you first buy a bra, never put it on the smallest setting the first times you wear it-it will stretch out over time anyways, and then you will have no way to shrink it back down.

How to be (less) Awkward: Nobody says your socks need to match to be respectable, or that you have to lose five pounds to be attractive, or that you need to go to an Ivy League to succeed. Well, some people say it, but I find the happiest people are the ones who don’t make dumb rules like that for other people to follow.

This is a sampling from one of my favorite blogs, Smart Pretty and (less) Awkward. I have been reading Molly’s blog as a daily pick-me-up for quite some time now and when she graciously accepted the offer to guest blog on Everyday to Runway I was ecstatic to share her with all my readers! Every day Molly shares a great quote and three tips to help you become a smarter, prettier and less awkward woman. Whether it’s a book recommendation or a tip to help out a friend her “how to be smarter” section always intrigues me, while her prettier section always inspires me for new Everyday to Runway posts, but I have to say my favorite are always the (less) awkward tips, advising you to never ask a woman if she’s pregnant (bad news bears if you’re wrong), or giving you an excuse for watching a guilty-pleasure movie by saying “it was only thing on when I was on that plane last month!” I love it and I love her fun tips and quotes to get my day started…

Here’s a mini-interview with Molly herself…

Name: Molly Ford
Age: 23
Website: www.smartprettyandawkward.com
How long you’ve been blogging: a year and a half

What are your top 3 must-have beauty products?

Hmmm…definitely brown mascara, so versatile for day, and at night I like to layer it with black. Crest Whitestrips for teeth, and I always use whitening toothpaste and floss, too. For nails, definitely Essie, I find it lasts the longest. I also get a manicure every week, and I try not to repeat colors too often, and Essie has a ton of options.

What are your favorite Spring Trends?

Lace and bows! Also, I don’t know if this is a spring trend, but I’ve got these flower clips from H&M in several different colors and have been pining them into my bun for the past couple weeks. I also just bought a lace backless dress in a pale rose color that has three quarter length sleeves, and I’ve been wearing it with a big purple flower pinned in my hair. Oh, and after reading your post on nude heels, I’ve been scouring looking for a great pair.

Favorite go-to Spring Outfit?

Spring is so great because you get to pull out your summery dresses and pair them with your winter cardigans and tights. All you really need for spring is cardigans, dresses, tights, and embellished flats (I just bought these). Oh, and a couple pairs of skinny jeans with some silky tops.
space
Best Date Night Outfit?

A minidress with a blazer and heels. Although I must admit heels are great for making legs look long, do not wear heels unless you are sure you can walk in them, for a few blocks at least, comfortably. Nothing is worse then looking great but limping along cause your feet hurt. And heels on a first date is a gamble because what if you two want to go for a nice walk afterwards but you can’t cause of your shoes?
space
Favorite season, fashion-wise?

Summer, because I love wearing just a skirt with tank and my hair in a ponytail on Saturday afternoons with an iced coffee. And you don’t have to carry jackets when you go out, or bother with coat check.
space
Can’t live without item of clothing:

Hooded leather jacket. The hood is key. It says “I am so tough, even rain won’t mess with my hairstyle.” It can also say, “My favorite brand is Mike & Chris.” Or, in my case, it says “I am tough, rain won’t mess my hair, I can’t afford Mike & Chris, so I buy hooded leather jacket knock-offs from Urban Outfitters.”
space
Best accessory (necklaces, hats, rings, etc):

The only accessory I wear without fail is earrings. Currently, I am stuck on tiny diamonds studs that I gave my little sister for Christmas one year and then slyly took them back from her at Easter the same year….
space
My style words to live by are…

“Is my dress too short?” –Victoria Beckham
space
Thanks Molly for sharing your great words of wisdom with Everyday to Runway.
space
And remember to check out Molly’s blog and follow her on Twitter HERE and follow me HERE!
3 Responses to “Are you Smart, Pretty and.. Awkward?!”

  1. elisha March 23, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    What i would love to know is what kind of music Molly listens too. She has such great taste in everything else, it would be great to get some recommendations!

    • everydaytorunway March 23, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      Molly tweeted me saying “Three favorites: At My Most Beautiful – REM; She Doesn’t Get It -The Format; Fidelity – Regina Spektor.”

      My top three right now: Under the Sheets (remix)- Ellie Goulding and Chiddy Bang; “Same Night Sky”- 2AM Club; A little bit (remix)- Lykke Li and Drake.

      Totally golden… any recc’s for us?!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “The most important trip you may take in life is meeting people halfway” — Henry Boye « Smart Pretty and Awkward - March 24, 2010

    […] Please check out my interview today on Everyday to Runway! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)“If only. Those must be the two saddest […]

Leave a Reply

