Bundle Up!

3 Jan

Layering is actually an art. Really, trying to look chic yet stay warm in snow and whipping wind is quite hard! My first thoughts after a day of facing real winter weather…

1. Keep your items thin and add, add, add: Wearing a bulky sweater, a) doesn’t look too cute for your figure, and b) won’t help you once you get inside and the buildings are cranked up to 80°. So start with a thin tank top, add a long sleeve shirt, then maybe a vest or a thin sweater and then top it off with your choice of coat.

Rachel Zoe looks completely proportionate and flatters her frame, while Heidi Klum loses her whole shape in that oversized (a little too) hobo sweater.

(Photos from What They Wore).

2. Your coat should be proportionate to your body shape and reflect the weather. If it’s just breezy, a puffer down coat obviously isn’t appropriate. Coats that nip in at the waist, naturally or by belting, are most flattering. The best way to keep your shape is wearing tight fitting bottoms: leggings, tights, skinny jeans under your coat so your frame isn’t lost. Blake, or Serena does this well by pairing her non-fitted gorgeous Phillip Lim coat with adorable printed tights and some OTK boots.

(Photo from Closet Cravings).

3. Your best bet for warmth is your accessories, I own probably 30 scarves in total and so in turn, I can change one outfit 30 different times. I love circle scarves and since they’re so versatile you can change up your look a lot. Try buying a scarf in a color other than black, gray, or cream for a new look, I get a million compliments on my bright fuschia scarf, and mint green one. Places like H&M have great deals on scarves and the ones I buy from there actually last as long as my Italian cashmeres, and are about 1/3 of the price!

Make sure you invest in some good gloves, insulated leather ones are my favorite, and again, try them in some fun colors! My mother gave me a pair of her old leather fuschia ones to match my scarf and I feel very Joan á la Mad Men when wearing them both together.

And hats, hats, hats! There are SO many kinds you could never get bored! I love berets because they don’t give me hat hair, but make sure they cover your ears or else you’re not getting the needed warmth! Remember, your body’s heat leaves from your head and your feet, so keep those the most covered up!

If all else fails, google “gossip girl in between scenes” and see what Leighton and Blake are wearing to stay warm in frigid NYC and put together your version inspired by theirs!

via


One Response to “Bundle Up!”

  1. Allen Taylor January 3, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

Leave a Reply

