Photo Overload.

20 Nov

I’m an avid blog reader. I recently have made the executive decision that in order to get on with my day I need to wake up an hour earlier in order to get through all the blog posts of my favorite websites. Yes, I’m devoted. So with that, I’ve been seeing so many must-have pieces, to die for wishlist items, and flat out amazing outfits, so I’m going to share my favorites!

First of all sequin obsession has hit everyone, including me. I blame it on my old competition dance days, but sequins will always hold a special place in my heart.

This Stella McCartney sequin top looks gorgeous on because the sequins are slightly more dispersed when stretched onto the body so it ends up looking more like a sheen than a tan disco ball ($1,105). Stephanie Pratt was seen in this amazing French Connection blue dress and while I’m not the biggest fan of her, or really any reality star, it made her seem like Hollywood Royalty. This is now my ultimate obsession, ($348). This next sequin vest is a more versatile young way to wear the ever-popular sequin blazer. Dakota Fanning was seen with it and she paired it with a cute cotton top so it created a great balance of sparkle and subtle. This Joie “Twinklette” vest ($298) is really helping add to the fashionista status that Dakota is earning. Lastly, I love this bright colored, look-at-me skirt which I’ve recently seen in this month’s Cosmo, it’s DKNY from Macy’s and only $59! So as you can see, the sequin look can work in all styles, colors, and prices. Embrace it, Love it. I do.

Here is one of my style icons Rachel Bilson. And my favorite designer in the world, Karl Lagerfeld. I absolutely love her ruffled cardigan and pulled together look while still looking casual and adorable with not much effort. She also added her kitschy piece, this fabulous Karl Who? bag, which Karl himself also wore. Fan-freakin-stastic.

Lastly, winter classics are so important right now. Coats are one of my weaknesses because since it’s so cold, when you’re outside people only see your coat, and if I have to wear the same two coats everyday I get bored with winter quite fast. So I’m loving AnnaLynne McCord’s warm coat, and Blake Lively, or Serena van der Woodsen’s beautiful Phillip Lim coat.

Both of them paired great coats with fierce over-the-knee boots. Keep the basic black for the boots, and this winter have some fun with your coats. Bright magentas, deep plums are great, or keep it classic like AnnaLynne’s Via Spiga’s coat, (on sale! originally $375, now $262). Or for a new look this winter pair your boots with plaid tights. I think these tights are amazing and since “Serena” stuck to simple colors like gray, black and white the whole look is polished but also interesting. Her coat is available at Barney’s for $650, a price that’s a little more Upper East Side, than everyday.

So whatever look you’re going for this winter remember to be true to yourself. Put your take on the classic coats by accessorizing it your way, whether with tights, tall boots, or a tantalizing lipstick a la AnnaLynne seen representing at Maybelline/Cosmo’s event in Times Square… Dress up your regular casual look with the hot trend of sparkly sequins, it’s a perfect look for all the Holiday parties that are coming up, especially when paired with opaque tights! … Or keep looking for your kitschy piece, like the Karl Who? bag!

What will be your favorite pieces this winter?!

(Photos from closet cravings, and macys).
2 Responses to “Photo Overload.”

  1. Nicole November 26, 2009 at 8:26 am #

    Rachel Bilson can do no wrong. Her style is absolutely amazing

    • everydaytorunway December 16, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

      Her and Natalie Portman! Totally agree! Thanks for the comment NP :)

Leave a Reply

