Travel in Style pt deux.

18 Nov

After what seemed like the longest day of travel yesterday, I’m finally here in beautiful Cape Cod. I’m loving the bare trees and flaming red leaves scattered in piles in our yard. I also was welcomed to a large package of my over the knee Blowfish Wisker boots (picture in my second post) and am happily loving them. They’re more comfortable than I even expected and add a great 2.5 inches to my 5’4″ stature! But back to the real topic: traveling in style.

When I do these routine west-to-east coast long days I need to prepare much more than my one hour flights back and forth from SF to Orange County! As a former resident of the tiny island of Guam, which takes a full 17 hours from NY-to LA-to Hawaii-to Guam, I have become a master of traveling.

My go-to outfits are always ones that are both comfortable but do not resemble bedtime attire. Items such as fitted leggings with more of a sheen such as the above American Apparel ones, ($42) are super comfortable but do not look like sweatpants. Jeans, I find are much too constricting when flying for six hours, but the new trend of “jeggings” (jean-leggings) can combine the look of fits but the feel of leggings. Joe’s just released a new line this week, (around $78-90). Pairing these with slip on ankle boots dresses up the look as well as creates an easy slip-off for those horrid security lines.

The key is also, layering, because you never know when the plane will be freezing or burning hot. One of my staple wardrobe pieces, are the long racer back tanks from Topshop ($20), I wear mine all the time over leggings because I’m not a fan of leggings as pants look. As well as thermal long sleeve tops from pretty much anywhere, I love Michael Stars long sleeves, but GAP has cheap ones as well. Lastly, I throw over any wrap sweater. Sweaters that have a soft texture but have shape to them, I have travel staple ones from Banana Republic (above), F21, and H&M.

I always use my Louis Vuitton Medium Never-Full bag to travel because it can hold so much, including my laptop, and adds some oomph to my otherwise basic travel outfit. Outside of clothes, my staples for traveling include eye masks, ear plugs (you never know how bright/loud your location might be at nighttime), a great moisturizer (above): I’m addicted to La Roche-Posay’s Toleriane line which you can get at any CVS at around $20. It has no fragrance in it, is so light and is perfect for under makeup. Also, I always keep my pressed powder, a small mascara and my lipstick (I use bombshell by MAC, which I can double as cream blush) in my carry-on just in case my luggage gets lost.

I always pack a tiny umbrella because you never know when it’ll rain and I enjoy my hair to stay frizz-free (only Grace Coddington can pull that look off!). In my suitcase I’ll also add a small candle in a metal travel-safe tin for those hotel rooms to give it a more home-y feel and always bring an alarm clock, because I am always a sucker for the time difference.

I hope you all have safe travels if you’re going home for Thanksgiving!

(Photos: sriaity, AA, nordstrom, BR, CVS)
Leave a Reply

